Once

At the risk of sounding like a hipster, I must admit that I’m already a big fan of Glen Hansard’s bands, The Frames and The Swell Season. Friends of mine had told me that there had been a movie made starring this amazing artist, but I had never sat down and actually watched it. What I saw and heard in this film was so much more down-to-earth than the content of most movies, yet still so inspiring.

Glen was living at home helping his dad in his vacuum cleaner repair shop, and Marketa was selling flowers and magazines on the street, but they found inspiration in each other and from their experiences. Both were separated from their significant others for different reasons, and they ended up in a tentative relationship briefly. Their situation provided inspiration for songwriting, lending depth and emotion to the songs they recorded. This reminded me that I need a muse in life, someone or something that inspires me to succeed and create. People who find a person, hobby, location, etc. that adds meaning to their life tend to enjoy life to a greater extent. I can get trapped in a routine (especially when school is in session) that completes my to-do list, but doesn’t provide any fulfillment. After watching this movie, I think I’ll either start searching for a new muse, or revisit something that has filled that role in the past. As I’ve heard so many times, “Work to live, don’t live to work.”

Leave a comment